DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 116 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
21,657 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is the Dish HD anticipation thread for 2012. Please discuss, speculate, and wish for new HD in this thread and not create new threads that splinter the conversation.

Below are some ground rules for this thread...

1. This is the thread to discuss new potential HD from Dish for 2012.
2. This is not the thread to discuss hardware, just channels.
3. This is not a Dish vs DirecTV thread. It doesn't matter if DirecTV does or does not have a given HD channel... there are other threads for that.
4. This is not a thread to discuss channels in dispute between Dish and another company. There are other threads for that.
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
4,792 Posts
Well Dish! is starting out 2012 in good form adding Epix3-382 in HD.

I can only hope that Epix Drive In-292 will go HD in the future?Soon?.;)


I thought I remembered I read somewhere that Encore was going to offer more of their channels in HD besides Encore E- 340?.Hope so.;)
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
15,566 Posts
Personally, I have 99% of what I wanted - I'd like our local CW station in HD, but know that will come when the CBS O&O contract comes up (CBS owns The CW station) and will ultimately add to the cost of the package.

At some point everything will be in "HD" and it will all be called TV. Then the hassle will be over 3-D, I suppose.
 

·
Legend
Joined
·
224 Posts
I would like to see all the premium movie channels that are broadcast in HD offered in HD on DISH. It would also be nice if at least one of the CW Superstation channels was offered in HD. My local CW is a sub channel of the ABC affiliate and is not available in HD OTA or otherwise.
 

·
Legend
Joined
·
188 Posts
I would like to see our Fox Sports HD channel (436) show 100% of the events which are being produced in HD
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
4,792 Posts
MCHuf said:
I would like all of my local stations that broadcast in hd available on Dish in hd (CW, PBS, MyTV are all sd only on Dish). Every other provider in my area does this.
MCHuf:

Because this is the DISH HD wish tread,I don't know if you already have an over the air antenna up or not.If not check out www.antennaweb.org or www.tvfool.com and see if that might be an option.I do and the HD PQ is better over the air,plus with the 722k with the Dual Over The Air Tuners Module(MT2) I can record 4 programs at once(2OTA+2SAT) while watching a prerecorded program.Good Luck!:)

Also watching off a antenna is alot of subchannels!.:D
 

·
Icon
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
I would like to see Dish match DirecTV and Cable Local station HD offereings in every market BEFORE adding any new HD channels.

Example: in my Market DirecTV has CW, PBS Iowa, PBS Nebraska all IN HD. Dish is just SD.

Many other markets have the same issue.
 

·
Godfather/Supporter
Joined
·
2,033 Posts
scottchez said:
I would like to see Dish match DirecTV and Cable Local station HD offereings in every market BEFORE adding any new HD channels.

Example: in my Market DirecTV has CW, PBS Iowa, PBS Nebraska all IN HD. Dish is just SD.

Many other markets have the same issue.
That would be very shortsighted of Dish, and is why they don't do that. Some markets are just too small for Dish to allocate their HD space over a channel everyone can watch. Also it's sometimes not related to size at all. For instance Boston PBS is still in SD, but Hartford has it in HD. It can be because of something on the local's end.
The NY RSN's are an example of Dish deciding, only people in the NY DMA can watch games on those channels, and doing the math, the amount the RSN's there want to charge would make Dish possibly have to charge everyone more to off set the increase, so no NY RSN's.

I guess my point is there are a variety of reasons not every DMA has all their locals in HD. Just remember when you compare Dish to Direct TV and Cable, compare the cost to subscribe to them too. In most cases Dish is less.
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
6,226 Posts
Jhon69 said:
Well Dish! is starting out 2012 in good form adding Epix3-382 in HD.

I can only hope that Epix Drive In-292 will go HD in the future?Soon?.;)

I thought I remembered I read somewhere that Encore was going to offer more of their channels in HD besides Encore E- 340?.Hope so.;)
I'd like the two ENCORE channels that launched last August. They're launching
two more HD channels this year. You must have STARZ to get ENCORE channels in HD.
 

·
Icon
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
You missing my point. I said Match. Dish should Match DirecTV in local HD. DirecTV has many markets where they have all there locals in HD like the CW and PBS. Dish does not.
Its hard to sell Dish when the the other guys have all the locals in HD.
I drive around town and it is DireCTV Sat dishs installed on houses I would say 10 to One right now. Who wants SD? And who want to spend an other $50 for a Dish OTA modual plus an other $40 for an antenna.

Dish need to to add Local HDs channels for the CW and PBS before adding more HD.
I thought I read where in 2013 and 2014 the law will require it anyway, is that true. I think they have to be at 60% of markets by Feb 1s or something.

tampa8 said:
That would be very shortsighted of Dish, and is why they don't do that. Some markets are just too small for Dish to allocate their HD space over a channel everyone can watch. Also it's sometimes not related to size at all. For instance Boston PBS is still in SD, but Hartford has it in HD. It can be because of something on the local's end.
The NY RSN's are an example of Dish deciding, only people in the NY DMA can watch games on those channels, and doing the math, the amount the RSN's there want to charge would make Dish possibly have to charge everyone more to off set the increase, so no NY RSN's.

I guess my point is there are a variety of reasons not every DMA has all their locals in HD. Just remember when you compare Dish to Direct TV and Cable, compare the cost to subscribe to them too. In most cases Dish is less.
 

·
EKB Editor
Joined
·
4,022 Posts
inazsully said:
Some day our grand kids will ask, you mean you actually had to watch SD?
Not only that, I watched Dish SD :eek2:
tampa8 said:
That would be very shortsighted of Dish, and is why they don't do that. Some markets are just too small for Dish to allocate their HD space over a channel everyone can watch. ...
There are very few if any markets on a ConUS beam, so filling in missing HD locals isn't depriving us of national channels. Smaller markets generally have fewer channels making it more likely they can all fit on the same spotbeam.
 
1 - 20 of 116 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top