DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to satelite and since I'm kind of stuck in a contract, I'm forcing myself to learn as much as I can. My problem today is the Vip211's compatibility with a Media Center PC, or, more appropriately, the 211's remote control.

In case you don't know wth a Media Center PC is or have never used one to give any insight, the setup is simple: Instead of connecting your 211 to the TV, you hook it into a computer with Windows MCE OS on it, and if you have the other neccessary hardware, you can use Window's take on a TV guide and use your hard drive as a DVR, so on and so forth. Part of the process of hooking up any set top box config to a PC is getting it to understand the remote controls codes so that you can use the Media Center remote, and also if you want to schedule a recording, it needs to be able to change the channel on its own w/o the remote, so in other words, it needs to learn it or you won't be able to use it at all.

Okay, well herein lies the problem. For whatever reason, Media Center is not recognizing the damn remote for anything!! I'm familiar with the process because I've built several Media Center PCs so I've been successful before, but for some reason, this particular remote control is being difficult. For one, you have to use a IR Blaster over the sensor of the 211. I assumed the sensor on the 211 is the 3 little holes that line the front but if that's not the case then please, do enlighten. Other than that, I can't get it to learn the IR code.