DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new to Dish and the 622 is being installed this week, can't wait! Just had a question that I couldn't really find the answer to in my search.

I have my HD downstairs and 2 SD tv's (1 upstairs and 1 downstairs). Can the TV2 tuner be split so I can watch from one or the other SD tv's? Basically just take the remote between rooms. I'll never have them on at the same time and was wondering if this was something a Dish installer would do or something I'd have to do myself.

Thanks,
Lenny

·
Hall Of Fame
3,055 Posts
Sure you can split it. It's just a coax cable out of the back of the 622. In fact out of that one cable, if your in Dual Mode, you could be watching TV1 output on one SD TV and TV2 output on the other SD TV at the same time.

Will the dish installer do this for you? I don't know. I doubt this is part of the basic install you get but it really probably depends on how difficult it is to run the cables to the 2 TVs and whether or not he has a splitter with him.

·
622 Tips & Trick Keeper
9,880 Posts
And of course :welcome_s Lenny.. Hope you find our little piece of the net enjoyable.

·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the welcome and the info!

I'm just worried if I should order a SD receiver just in case the installer can't do the split, but I would lose DVR in a room. I don't think it is worth the extra $5 a month if a simple splitter can do the job. PS. my house is newer and I pre-wired coax cable to every room...hmm wonder if I can do a 3 way splitter and put a tv in the guest room?? :)

thanks!

·
Hall Of Fame
3,055 Posts