DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Legend
Joined
·
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since the last update when I hit the second speed of fast forward, rewind or the jump back button I get a blank screen for several seconds. When the program does come back on I'm never where I want to be as the show seems to be running while the screen is blank.
Is *D aware of this or am I the only one with this new problem? It was not there until the last update.
And once again, I'm sorry if this has already been discussed somewhere else. I looked but could not find this problem listed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,957 Posts
JerryShain said:
Since the last update when I hit the second speed of fast forward, rewind or the jump back button I get a blank screen for several seconds. When the program does come back on I'm never where I want to be as the show seems to be running while the screen is blank.
Is *D aware of this or am I the only one with this new problem? It was not there until the last update.
And once again, I'm sorry if this has already been discussed somewhere else. I looked but could not find this problem listed.
Try turning Native OFF in the HR20 if you haven't already. (just a wild suggestion)
 

·
Lifetime Achiever
Joined
·
30,092 Posts
It has been noted a few times, as hasan suggested... this has been reported a few times now with people that have native mode enabled.
 

·
Legend
Joined
·
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Earl Bonovich said:
It has been noted a few times, as hasan suggested... this has been reported a few times now with people that have native mode enabled.
I do have it turned on. I like Native mode. How do you know which resolution to set it at if it turned off. Since most or all I watch is High Def how do I know if it is 720 or 1080?
Is this something they are working on to fix?
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
1,102 Posts
JerryShain said:
I do have it turned on. I like Native mode. How do you know which resolution to set it at if it turned off. Since most or all I watch is High Def how do I know if it is 720 or 1080?
Is this something they are working on to fix?
I just leave it set at 1080i.
 

·
Lifetime Achiever
Joined
·
30,092 Posts
JerryShain said:
I do have it turned on. I like Native mode. How do you know which resolution to set it at if it turned off. Since most or all I watch is High Def how do I know if it is 720 or 1080?
Is this something they are working on to fix?
Identify what your native resolution is for your TV... and that helps determin it.

For example, mine native max standard resouion is 720p.... my TV will take a 1080i signal, cut it in half, and then up convert to 720p

So I just set mine to 720p
 

·
Legend
Joined
·
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Earl Bonovich said:
Identify what your native resolution is for your TV... and that helps determin it.

For example, mine native max standard resouion is 720p.... my TV will take a 1080i signal, cut it in half, and then up convert to 720p

So I just set mine to 720p
Thank you................again.
You did not answer the question of whether or not they are working on this.
 

·
Lifetime Achiever
Joined
·
30,092 Posts
JerryShain said:
Thank you................again.
You did not answer the question of whether or not they are working on this.
No, they are nolonger working on it.

They have already fixed it and it is in the release that is in testing right now.
 

·
Legend
Joined
·
156 Posts
I'm in the same boat. I keep mine set at 1080i. Either do that or use whichever looks better to you, which is really all that matters.
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
1,079 Posts
hahler2 said:
So for me I have a 1080P TV. Does that mean I should just set it at 1080i and forget about it instead of using the native mode?
it depends on if your display has a better scaler or deinterlacer. 720P actually contains more content that 1080i. 1080i is equivalent to 540P and as you can tell 540P is less data that 720P but 1080i uses 1080 scan lines it is just they are interleaved. You will need to test your display to see what works best.
 

·
Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07
Joined
·
9,809 Posts
Basically for everyone, try both 720p and 1080i and see what looks better. Every single HDTV will be different on how it handles up/down converts so only your eyes will be the judge as to what looks best.

I personally have mine set to Native off with 480i and 1080i set to available formats. I leave it at 1080i by default but when watching SD material I'll hit the format button to 480i and let my TV upconvert and stretch which looks much better to me then what the HR20 does with stretching. I came to this combination after about a week of testing what works best.

I'd prefer Native on for it's much higher WAF but slow channel changes and other little bugs with it just isn't worth it yet.
 

·
Legend
Joined
·
239 Posts
btmoore said:
it depends on if your display has a better scaler or deinterlacer. 720P actually contains more content that 1080i. 1080i is equivalent to 540P and as you can tell 540P is less data that 720P but 1080i uses 1080 scan lines it is just they are interleaved. You will need to test your display to see what works best.
720P does not contain more content than 1080i. Lets look at the math:

720P -> 720 x 1280 x 60 frames/sec = 55296000 pixels/sec

1080i -> 1080 x 1920 x 30 frames/sec = 62208000 pixels/sec

The above math is for 60fps content. If you consider 24fps content like movies and most scripted tv shows, 1080i has a much larger advantage.

720 x 1280 x 24 = 22118400 pixels/sec

1080 x 1920 x 24 = 49766400 pixels/sec

For my 1080P set I have Native on, with the allowed resolutions set to 720P and 1080i. If you set the HR20 to 1080i only, 720P channels will not look as good as they could since the HR20 will throw away data during the 720P -> 1080i conversion.
 

·
AllStar
Joined
·
71 Posts
f300v10 said:
720P does not contain more content than 1080i. Lets look at the math:

720P -> 720 x 1280 x 60 frames/sec = 55296000 pixels/sec

1080i -> 1080 x 1920 x 30 frames/sec = 62208000 pixels/sec

The above math is for 60fps content. If you consider 24fps content like movies and most scripted tv shows, 1080i has a much larger advantage.

720 x 1280 x 24 = 22118400 pixels/sec

1080 x 1920 x 24 = 49766400 pixels/sec

For my 1080P set I have Native on, with the allowed resolutions set to 720P and 1080i. If you set the HR20 to 1080i only, 720P channels will not look as good as they could since the HR20 will throw away data during the 720P -> 1080i conversion.
My TV is a 720p LCD set.
You are correct, 1080i is greater information than 720p
However, if your TV is a 720p set, then a lot of information gets "Thrown away" in transition to 720p (I think)
The end result is that football on ESPN as 720p looks way better than NBC games broadcast at 1080i on my TV.
Considering most HD sets sold to date are of the 720p variety, it stand to reason that a greater percentage of people at this time will benefit from a 720p signal as opposed to a 1080i signal.
But this is just my opinion.....
 

·
Legend
Joined
·
239 Posts
pattcap said:
My TV is a 720p LCD set.
You are correct, 1080i is greater information than 720p
However, if your TV is a 720p set, then a lot of information gets "Thrown away" in transition to 720p (I think)
The end result is that football on ESPN as 720p looks way better than NBC games broadcast at 1080i on my TV.
Considering most HD sets sold to date are of the 720p variety, it stand to reason that a greater percentage of people at this time will benefit from a 720p signal as opposed to a 1080i signal.
But this is just my opinion.....
The real question is which unit has better de-interlacer/scaler. If I set my HR20 to always output 1080i (I have a 1080P TV) then on 720P channels the HR20 would convert that from [email protected] to [email protected], throwing away data. If I just pass the 720P native to the TV, then the set up-converts from 720P to 1080P without any data being lost.

Conversely if you have a native 720P set (I have one of those as well) then on 1080i content the signal must be de-interlaced. One way to do that is simply scale each [email protected] fields to 720P, but that gives you less resolution than either 720P or 1080i. The 'best way' to do that is first de-interlace the signal to get 1080P, then down-res to 720P. I don't know how the HR20 handles that issue, for some letting the TV do it may be better than the HR20. The choice is up to each user what he/she thinks looks best.
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top