DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Cool Member
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been contemplating leaving DirecTV for Dish for a couple months, but I have a lot of inertia to overcome (all my recordings, plus the billing and service hassles, etc) but the newest price bump (in Feb for DTV) has prompted me.

At the time, I had concerns because my locals aren't in HD, and I wasn't sure if I could manage well (once you go HD, you don't go back), but I picked up a $90 antenna, and it seems to work just fine, so although it's a little more hassle, I'll get used to it eventually...

(although it sure would be nice of them to get with the times and start offering HD in Lafayette...)

Anyway, now I'm having issues with the plans and pricing. I seem to remember gold and silver packages being offered with Blockbuster promos or something... are those gone now? I didn't see them on the website.

Also, what should I watch out for during the transition? Should I set up Dish before I cancel DTV? What hardware should I get? We watch 95+% of our TV on one main set, but I'm open to getting another box if it's cheap...

Thanks in advance for the input!

·
Banned
120 Posts
JayVee said:
I've been contemplating leaving DirecTV for Dish for a couple months, but I have a lot of inertia to overcome (all my recordings, plus the billing and service hassles, etc) but the newest price bump (in Feb for DTV) has prompted me.

At the time, I had concerns because my locals aren't in HD, and I wasn't sure if I could manage well (once you go HD, you don't go back), but I picked up a $90 antenna, and it seems to work just fine, so although it's a little more hassle, I'll get used to it eventually...

(although it sure would be nice of them to get with the times and start offering HD in Lafayette...)