DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

· Legend
138 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie here, so if someone would please clarify this for me...

There are really two classifications of RSN, if I understand correctly. First, we have the one (or ones) we're authorized to see for all professional games all the time. Second, we have all of the others that are out of market. On these, the good content is all blacked out almost all of the time, unless you're a college sports fan.

My question... why would someone in Texas care about the addition of, say, FSN Pittsburgh to the full-time HD lineup?

Don't get me wrong, I'm exited for my fellow D* subs in Pittsburgh, but is there any advantage for an FSN Southwest resident such as myself when D* adds an out-of-market RSN... other than college games?

This brings up a further question: What's the advantage of the sports pack? Is it only useful for college fans?

Thanks! I'm confused, as you can see! :confused:

· Icon
647 Posts
I watch the Pre and Post game shows on NESN (from here in NC), which a lot of time not available on the MLBEI feed.

I plus watch Jets postgame on SNY after Jets games.

Stuff like that is why I get the SportsPack.

· Hall Of Fame
1,115 Posts
miketorse said:
I watch the Pre and Post game shows on NESN (from here in NC), which a lot of time not available on the MLBEI feed.

Agreed. The RSNs can serve as distant locals for sport fans. I've watched several out of market HD sports programs on them that are unique to their area.

· Hall Of Fame
2,844 Posts
Plus NBAtv, 3 soccer channels, outdoors channels, etc

The pre and post game shows on most RSNs are really good.

· Hall Of Fame
3,041 Posts
bryanw3535 said:
I'm a newbie here, so if someone would please clarify this for me...