DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Mentor
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, thanks to everyone who helped me get my Slimline5 up and aligned. This week I attempted to install my SWM8 to my receivers and it mostly all works except for OTA.

Here's my setup right now - HR20 connected to SWM-1 output of SWM8. I have a Channel Master 1-4 amp for the OTA signal. One of the OTA outputs goes to the OTA input on the SWM8. The legacy ports work fine, using my existing Eagle Aspen D2200 diplexers to combine the OTA signal with the SWM8 legacy output, and then split them back out again at the receiver. The problem is with the OTA on the SWM line.

When I use the D2200 diplexer - the HR20 locks up the picture, and signal goes to 0. However, either side by itself (SAT only or OTA only) works just fine! Just not both. I tried just connecting the SWM cable directly to SAT tuner (of course works fine) and also the OTA, which also works fine. So I decided to just try a 5-2300MHz all-power-passing splitter (not diplexer!). This works FINE. So I am confused. All the diagrams on dbstalk here show using SWS-2/4/8 splitters for the SWM output and then using a diplexer at each reciever to split off the OTA component of the SWM/OTA signal. However, in my experience, I should just use a normal splitter rather than a diplexer to "power" my OTA input on my HR20.

On my first floor, I do have the option of just splitting my OTA signal on a dedicated OTA RG6. However, my upstairs bedroom has one RG6, so I need to pull the OTA off the SWM output up there.

What are the recommended splitters/diplexers that work with the SWM8 module? I am basically saying here that the Eagle Aspen D2200 diplexers DO NOT work with the SWM8 and OTA. Apart from a recommended parts list, I have two questions:

1. With SWM and OTA - is there any difference in using a splitter instead of a diplexer at the IRD to connect the SAT1 and OTA inputs?