DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Cool Member
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I'm a newbie here, but have been a Directv customer since the 1st year they were in business. It was a happy day when I cancelled my cable service. I love D*TV & have experienced very few problems. I had a Microsoft Ultimate TV PVR (loved it!!) for several years, and switched to the HR10-250 when I went to a Hi-def TV almost 5 years ago. I added a 2nd HR10-250 about 3 years ago for a 2nd plasma. I have had a few freezeups, maybe once every 3-6 months, but am overall happy with the Tivos. I think the PVR is the best invention since the remote control!!
But now I'm told I need to get the new HR-2x receivers or lose my Hi-def signals. I (and the wife) are very used to the Tivo system, and are completely happy with the reliability of the HR10-250's.
After reading the threads on this forum, I am scared to death to pull the trigger on the new dish/ receivers. I am lead to believe lockups, lost recordings, resets that require re-setting your favorites, and faulty receivers are normal and to be expected.
I realize the happy customers are less likely to post here, but these new boxes get really bad ink here.
I almost am thinking to cancel D*TV and get cable until the new TIVO boxes are released & de-bugged. I hate to do so, but I will go wild if I experience some of the issues I have read about here.
I know my experience will vary, but any feedback and suggestions would be most appreciated.

Regards,
Bill

·
Lifetime Achiever
28,939 Posts
I think you've hit the nail on the head when you say "I realize the happy customers are less likely to post here." A properly installed system should work well and give you access to all of the HD features out there.