DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 93 Posts

·
I used to be a rocket scientist
12,182 Posts
"Record a whole transponder" is kind of a loaded phrase; it's so ambiguous and technically imprecise that it could mean almost anything. For instance, I have 6 locals carried in HD by Directv spread across two physical transponders. With 5 tuners, the HR34 could certainly record all the channels off of one of those transponders and be accurately said to be "recording the whole transponder."

·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
LameLefty said:
"Record a whole transponder" is kind of a loaded phrase; it's so ambiguous and technically imprecise that it could mean almost anything. For instance, I have 6 locals carried in HD by Directv spread across two physical transponders. With 5 tuners, the HR34 could certainly record all the channels off of one of those transponders and be accurately said to be "recording the whole transponder."
It isn't ambiguous compared to the Dish Hopper which is why I mentioned it in that context.

I am referring to storing the entire transponder stream at once and parsing it later off the hard drive instead of breaking out the individual channels live and storing them as individual channels.

I am guessing that the chipset in the HR34 is general purpose and can be re-purposed for that functionality if Direct chose to.

·
Registered
1,073 Posts
I expect it could record an entire encrypted transponder today.

I don't think D* will ever attempt anything like this. The concept of "you can record these things at once because they are on the same transponder but not those because they aren't" doesn't make much sense from a user perspective.

·
Hall Of Fame
6,724 Posts