DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All - I purchased HD Package and the HR20 from DirectTV and was just installed last weekend. I am using it with a Hitachi rear projection CRT TV. Forgive me if I don’t have all the correct lingo – this is my first attempt at HD TV and I really didn’t think it would be this difficult since DTV was going to come out and install everything. If anyone has any workarounds that could be accomplished by a technical novice, I would appreciate it.

My only real issue with the HR20 is the closed captioning. I have a hearing impaired person in the house, so it’s a huge problem. I called and was shuffled around by DTV tech support, where the support reps didn’t even have an HR20 so that they could walk me through some things.

(1) The HR20 overrides the closed captioning function of the TV set, which had worked fine with my previous receiver (the R10 with Tivo). In general, the HR20 captions are too fast, missing words/sentences and occasionally garbled. Has anyone been able to use the closed caption function through the television instead of the receiver?

(2) Three out of four of my local market HD Channels (Boston, channels 5, 7 & 25) do not include closed captions at all on the HD channel but the standard definition channel does have captions. Direct TV told me that this is because the broadcasters do not transmit captions with their HD programming. Does anyone successfully receive closed caption on any of these channels?

(3) The tech on the phone at DTV also suggested maybe my problems stem from the fact that I am using component cables instead of HDMI. Anyone know if that would make a bit of difference?