DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Icon
654 Posts
"Closed Captions" are function of your TV...
not your satellite receiver.
If the "program" has CC then select that function on your TV.
Example: on my TV I have CC set to activate when my TV sound is muted.

Sorry, I have no experience with HD. My comment was for SD.
(with SD the encoded CC IS passed to the TV... even via S-Video)

·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm not using a TV. I'm using the S-Video output to a PC connected to a DLP projector so I really need CC in the receiver. Sounds like the VIP211 doesn't support it. Are there any receivers that do?

·
Legend/Supporter
1,358 Posts
The 211 is an HD receiver so yes you should be able to get CC on the receiver. I don't have a 211 so I don't know what the menu option is but it should be there.

·
Legend
201 Posts
Just ran into this today, customer had a HD monitor and could not enable close caption on it so they ordered a 211 just for this feature.
Just hit the Menu button
Then # 8----Preference
Then# 6----closed caption
You can only do this on the 211 and 622

·
Icon
597 Posts
retiredTech said:
"Closed Captions" are function of your TV...
not your satellite receiver.
If the "program" has CC then select that function on your TV.
Example: on my TV I have CC set to activate when my TV sound is muted.
Thats not true with the 211 and my tv via hdmi to dvi cabling.Its controlled by the receiver, tv cc functions do not work.

·
Legend
155 Posts
If the 211 and 622 are like the 811, the closed captioning setup like described by dartonviper generates the CC in the receiver and includes it as part of the signal sent over the HD connection (component or DVI). There is no processing by the receiver via the S-video or composite signal. For those, the CC is encoded in the standard signal and is generated by the TV itself.