DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Godfather
449 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is going to be a lengthy set of questions and comments from someone who currently has dishnetwork with 2 622's and a dish 1000. I own both 622's and I am NOT signed into any type of contract. I'm a free agent. This is what I currently have programming wise:

DishBRONZEHD: 54.99/mo (includes locals)
DVR Fee(s): 11.96/mo
Cw national: 1.50/mo
Additional STB 6.00/mo

The DISH 1000 allows for 2 "trunks" that can each feed a 2 tuner box on their own. Dish also allows for a dish seperator which can in essence allow one run of coax to power both tuners on the STB. (This is important in a later question).

To the questions....

1. Does the HR20/Direct Sat require two seperate runs of coax, or do that also allow for a split? I do NOT want to deal with feeding additional runs if I can help it.

2. I live in the kazoo/Gr market which recently gets locals in HD. However, I already have a large OTA....so local HD's aren't that big a deal. Is it correct that even if I use my OTA, I am limited to two recorded events firing at the same time? (my 622's allow for 3 at a time if 1 of them is OTA).

3. Please explain what in the heck are you guys talking about regarding the tuners not running at the same time (not the right name, but I'm sure you'll figure out what I mean....it's your 2nd biggest ***** after ota activation).

4. Direct charges only ONE DVR fee per household regardless of number of DVR's?

5. What is my best bet in securing 3 hr20's? And what is your best guess on my charge to do so? Should I deal directly with direct? (Their website won't even LET me try to order a HR20 as a new customer) Best buy has them sometimes, but it looks as though I'd be looking a $199+$299+$299, which would be more than I could get for my 622's on ebay.