DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· DBSTalk Club Member
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a new customer coming from Brighthouse networks. I called D* directly and explained what I wanted which is a HD DVR and all of the basic channels and 1 extra room. This is what they have given me:
1 3 lnb dish
1 dvr
1 standard receiver
put on the waiting list for the HDDVR
free personal dvd player
I am getting all of that for $106 with a $100 MIR.

Install is suppose to be tomorrow between 1-5pm. Should I get this or should I call back and try to get the 5 lnb dish. I really don't want to have them come back out at a later time to install the other dish. Is there a HD charge? Supposedly I am in an area where the locals come in (don't know if it is HD or not). I am just learning about HD and D* so sorry if my questions are elementary.

Last question is do you tip the installer and if so how much if he does a good job.

Thanks for the help!

· Registered
5,747 Posts
You should call back and get the 5-LNB. Even if you can get your locals over w/ OTA any new HD programming will mostly likely be in MPEG4. If you can't get HD Over-The-Air then the 5-LNB would be required to get your locals in HD.

There is a charge to get D*'s HD package. I think it's 9.99 a month. ESPN, ESPN2, HD Universal, TNT, Discovery HD, HDNet, HDnet Movies

I guess as an unwritten rule any service type work should be tipped. Many people haven't. Tip only if you want too. How much? That's your decision as well. I don't think anyone can tell you an exact amount.

:welcome_s

· DBSTalk Club Member
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
HDTVsportsfan said:
You should call back and get the 5-LNB. Even if you can get your locals over w/ OTA any new HD programming will mostly likely be in MPEG4.

There is a charge to get D*'s HD package. I think it's 9.99 a month. ESPN, ESPN2, HD Universal, TNT, Discovery HD, HDNet, HDnet Movies