DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Icon
Joined
·
748 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So last night I was wanting to set my DVR for today's game 7 hockey games. One of the game 7s was on at 8:30pm ET on NHL Network (215). I set this game to record manually since the guide data wasn't in. I just check my list and the DVR decided to record channel 603 (a different game 7) instead. Shouldn't a manual record be just that, manual and never messed with or changed by the machine? I am beyond furious at D* right now!
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
6,417 Posts
That feature has saved me in the past as the machine found the game I had selected to record had been blacked out in my area, It switched to a channel I could get. A true manual record would/could not be changed, but if you merely selected the time slot on a given channel and selected record it could be changed as that is not a true manual recode.
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
1,224 Posts
"lokar" said:
So last night I was wanting to set my DVR for today's game 7 hockey games. One of the game 7s was on at 8:30pm ET on NHL Network (215). I set this game to record manually since the guide data wasn't in. I just check my list and the DVR decided to record channel 603 (a different game 7) instead. Shouldn't a manual record be just that, manual and never messed with or changed by the machine? I am beyond furious at D* right now!
Everything is screwy with this guide data and the two games. I know when I checked a couple of hours ago Senators/Rangers was on NBC SN and Devils/Panthers on NHL Network. The guide data reflected this. Around 30 minutes to an hour ago I flipped from NHL Network to NBC SN and I noticed both were showing the Devils/Panthers as the game. It's possible this may have had something to do with it. I don't know. The game is also airing on both stations now also.
 

·
Icon
Joined
·
748 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I did a true manual record and it changed my record. I said to record from 8:35 - 9:55pm ET on 215 NHLN and the DVR decided to record 603 instead. I don't think this should ever happen on manual records.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
25,276 Posts
"lokar" said:
I did a true manual record and it changed my record. I said to record from 8:35 - 9:55pm ET on 215 NHLN and the DVR decided to record 603 instead. I don't think this should ever happen on manual records.
Mst likely what you tried to record was blacked out and it did a game search and found the game Ina channel that came in. Or at least, that could be what happened. What actually recorded? Was it the same game you where trying to get but on a different channel?
 

·
Legend
Joined
·
147 Posts
i have complained about this in the past, and i 100% agree with lokar. directv's stupid implementation of manual record isn't a manual record at all. manual record should not EVER look at the guide (with the possible exception of grabbing the show name). instead DirecTV's implementation translates the manual record into a show record. if the show changes after it gets mapped, the manual record is changed. it is stupid ... stupid ... stupid.

manual record SHOULD act EXCACTLY like an old VCR's manual record. start recording at this time on this channel and stop when i tell you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,652 Posts
I might be completely wrong but I did not think the DVR actually does what you are suggesting. My understanding was, it acts essentially like a VCR. I suspect the only difference is if it starts to record and discovers there is nothing to record (a sports blackout for example). then the logic would automatically push it into gamesearch, there's no point in it recording a blank screen.
One way to check, try setting up a manual recording that starts in the middle of one non-sports program and runs to the middle of the next, see if that works...if it does, the DVR is working as we think it should.
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
12,971 Posts
"drill" said:
i have complained about this in the past, and i 100% agree with lokar. directv's stupid implementation of manual record isn't a manual record at all. manual record should not EVER look at the guide (with the possible exception of grabbing the show name). instead DirecTV's implementation translates the manual record into a show record. if the show changes after it gets mapped, the manual record is changed. it is stupid ... stupid ... stupid.

manual record SHOULD act EXCACTLY like an old VCR's manual record. start recording at this time on this channel and stop when i tell you.
Don't think this is right. I do a manual record on Monday's for Leno (headlines). If the show shifts for Wimbledon or something, it does not shift the time.
 

·
Godfather
Joined
·
391 Posts
"tonyd79" said:
Don't think this is right. I do a manual record on Monday's for Leno (headlines). If the show shifts for Wimbledon or something, it does not shift the time.
You could be right but the difference is here the manual was set to was record a llive sporting event which might cause the blackout search to kick in as suggested earlier.
 

·
Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.
Joined
·
15,541 Posts
markman07 said:
You could be right but the difference is here the manual was set to was record a llive sporting event which might cause the blackout search to kick in as suggested earlier.
Could you please outline the exact steps you took? Otherwise, we're going in circles.
 

·
This Space for Sale
Joined
·
7,466 Posts
markman07 said:
You could be right but the difference is here the manual was set to was record a llive sporting event which might cause the blackout search to kick in as suggested earlier.
It shouldn't matter that this was a live sporting event. If it was set manually for a specific channel/amount of time, that is what the DVR should have recorded.
 

·
Icon
Joined
·
854 Posts
texasbrit said:
So you wanted it to record a blank screen?
If that's what's on a channel, then absolutely it should. A manual recording is just that... manual. You tell it to record a channel and a timeframe and it should record it, regardless of what it is recording.
 

·
Impossible Dreamer
Joined
·
5,525 Posts
Chuck W said:
If that's what's on a channel, then absolutely it should. A manual recording is just that... manual. You tell it to record a channel and a timeframe and it should record it, regardless of what it is recording.
I agree.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,652 Posts
I don't think the DVR has the capability to record a blank screen. If there is no signal, you would get a <1 second attempted recording and that's all, just like if there's a cable/tuner fault.
Why do you care, anyway? There wasn't anything to record....
 

·
Icon
Joined
·
854 Posts
texasbrit said:
I don't think the DVR has the capability to record a blank screen. If there is no signal, you would get a <1 second attempted recording and that's all, just like if there's a cable/tuner fault.
Why do you care, anyway? There wasn't anything to record....
That's fine, as long as it sits on that channel for the duration of time I tell it to because there may be something during that time that isn't a black screen that I wanna see.

Say I set it for 7-11pm and the game goes to 10:30. In the OP's case, I'd have had A) recorded a game I could care less about and B) gotten the post game of the game could care less about. If it had stayed on the channel I told it to, while I would have a (quick?) black screen, I'd also have the post game of the game I DID care about.

There should be no logic or anything automatic inserted into a manual recording. It should record the time frame and channel you tell it to and nothing more, period.
 
1 - 20 of 37 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top