DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Legend
222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
These threads back and forth -- "my HR-20 is great" vs. "it sucks" are getting quite tedious!! Is there any definitive info as to why these problems for SO MANY boxes are occuring? Has it been isolated to hardware (make quality) vs. software? No one knows yet (which may be more troubling)? :confused:

·
Hall Of Fame
2,014 Posts
Take a look at the "power the dish" thread that is stuck to the top of this forum.. There looks to be something to the scenario and fix suggested.

·
I used to be a rocket scientist
12,182 Posts
There is no definitive "answer" to the problems, nor why some have a whole gamut of issues, some have none, and some (like me) have had just a handful of odd trick-play glitches and one missed recording in a month of moderately-heavy use. It's probably a combination of software errors, some individual boxes running with marginal internal components being stressed by heavy use, and some glitchy MPEG2 and 4 streams causing corrupted data inside the HR20. In all these cases, the software would ideally be able to deal with the situation gracefully without causing the problems people see, but that's not happening.

In any event, our has worked very, very well. I'd give it 8.5 out of 10 for us after a month of use. Half a point deducted for trick-play glitches and the "DD reversed bug", and a full point deducted for one HD Superfan recording which was marked "Deleted" before I could watch it ten days ago.

Again, all in all I think the software is the root cause of most of the problems and it's getting better all the time. Go back a month or two in the postings here and see what things were like in the first few software releases.

·
Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08
5,222 Posts