DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Mentor
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just confirmed that the Dish installers will be using a Dish 1000+ for my install.

Does anyone know if this dish fits on a normal sized mast? I have a DirecTV oval dish (3 lnb) currently...will the installers be able to use the same mast?

Also, I know that a DPP44 multi switch has to be used. Is this a powered switch? If so (I have no experience with them), how does the installation of that work? Does a run of RG6 go from a power outlet to the switch? Do these run hot?

·
Cool Member
17 Posts
I just got a Dish 1000+ installed. they were able to reuse the SuperDish Pole to mount the 1000+ with an adapter that the installer had. I have not had any signal issues with this at all. We have had a couple of really windy days since the install and I never lost signal. My Dish is mounted on the top of the roof with nothing really blocking the wind.

The switch is powered through the RG6 cable. a box plugs into the wall and then the RG6 comes from the #1 port on the switch and plugs into the box and then into the Receiver.

where are in Illinois?

James

·
Hall Of Fame
3,055 Posts
You may or may not be able to use the same mast. I know the mast for the Dish1000+ was slightly larger than the one I had for my Dish1000 so I swapped it out.

As for the DPP44 switch, yes it is a powered switch. Basically you need to hook up the power inserter in-line with the first receiver port on the switch. This can be inside by the receiver. The switch has always been warm to me, not really 'hot'. I actually have my switch up in my attic close to the Dish and have the power inserter behind my TV in the living room. The switch can go outside as well, I just put it in the attic for looks, I didn't want it attached to my mast or bolted to the side of the house.

·
Super Moderator
10,084 Posts
The DPP44 has always run on the warm side of the scale.