DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· God Bless America!
2,534 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy folks, I'm new to the idea of receiving FTA satellite and I am interested in receiving Intelsat Americas 5 from northwest Montana (near but north of Kalispell). Will I be able to get off with a 75cm dish? I don't want a 90cm with the neighbors I have, LOL...

Second, I'm also interested in Galaxy 10R. Could this be received by adding a second LNBF and a switch ala DISH 500 or SuperDish? If so, what would I need to accomplish this?

Thanks,

Mark

P.S. Yah, I know I'm not exactly welcome here... I'll leave once I get this figured out, LOL.

· Hall Of Fame
3,474 Posts
:welcome_s
I'm always happy to try to help with friendly, reasonable questions like yours.

The satellite footprint map (http://www.intelsat.com/apps/coverage-maps/sat_foot.htm?name=IA-5&loc=97&band=ku&beam=1&dir=W) shows you to be in an area of about 46 dB if I read its tiny print correctly. The old table I've got suggests a 90 cm dish given a 0.9 dB LNBF. Of course, modern Ku-band LNBFs are a lot more sensitive than that.

For another data point, I'm in a 48 dB area with a 0.5 dB LNBF and a 76cm dish, and I see everything on IA5 loud and clear.

My guess, my estimate is that a 75cm would work on a clear day with a decent (0.5 or less) LNBF. If you can find a satellite dealer in your region, he'd be able to tell you with greater certainty.

A second dish pointed at G10R and a DiSEqC switch should work great with any modern FTA receiver. Good luck!

· God Bless America!
2,534 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·