DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Please pardon what might be a frequently asked question. I have a Dish network PVR 501, and have that connected to my JVC VCR using RCA cables on the Video out, and Aux IN connectors. My vcr does not support s-video.

When I record shows from the PVR to tape, the quality is pretty crummy. Edges of objects are blurry, colors (especially faces) are blotchy and uneven - It's watchable, but about as high quality as a moderately bad set of rabbit ears.

Is this just an artifact of the digital > analog conversion? or is something else going on? Is there something I can buy that would improve the situation. Would a s-video capable VCR make it better?

Thanks,

Reed Wright

·
Hall Of Fame
2,014 Posts
I believe it would indeed. I'm no expert on composite video/svideo, but I do know the picture quality is much better, and you will be much happier if all of your gear supports svideo.

G

·
I'm no expert, but I agree with neilster1.
Sounds cheap enough to try, you could pick a decent one up at the local Walmat.

·
Administrator
17,324 Posts
An S-Video compatable VCR will help but that usually means that you need to purchase a Super VHS VCR. You will definitely see an improvement recording in S-VHS.

What you are seeing are the problems involved in recording using composite video (RCA) to a standard VHS VCR. It's the second worst way to record from your satellite receiver. The first being the RF channel 3/4 outputs.

If you want to see better recordings, sell your VHS VCR and buy an S-VHS VCR. The quality is much better and they are relatively in-expensive.

·
Icon/Supporter
592 Posts
I sure hope it's just composite video artifacts you're seeing,
and not some clumsy attempt at copy protection. Otherwise,
I'll certainly never buy that receiver.

·
God Bless America!
2,538 Posts