DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
AllStar
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I just bought a Sammy HL-S6187 HDTV....I called DTV to upgrade me to the HD Package. This Sammy supports HDMI input and I know the H20 has HDMI output. Before the tech comes over and switches out my satellite and receiver...I'd like to know whether I'll be supplied with an HDMI cable or not so that in the case of it not coming supplied already with the install....I run out and get one off ebay or something for a low price, having it ready for when the tech is here next Saturday (12/9).

Does it?

·
I used to be a rocket scientist
12,182 Posts
The tech is supposedly required to use HDMI if your TV supports it, though there will not be an HDMI cable in the box. This requirement is routinely ignored or denied by techs, who honestly may not know about it. The only reason many of us here know it is because the D* installation videos you can sometimes record state that they are to do it.

Be that as it may, my HL-S5688 looks fantastic on component and HDMI connections have been known to be the cause of some folks' problems with the HR20.

·
AllStar
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
LameLefty said:
The tech is supposedly required to use HDMI if your TV supports it, though there will not be an HDMI cable in the box. This requirement is routinely ignored or denied by techs, who honestly may not know about it. The only reason many of us here know it is because the D* installation videos you can sometimes record state that they are to do it.

Be that as it may, my HL-S5688 looks fantastic on component and HDMI connections have been known to be the cause of some folks' problems with the HR20.