DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Cool Member
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK. I know that a lot has been written about these two lacking features, and I know that TiVo has patents on them. But, the thing I miss most about my TiVo was the auto back track when you fast forward (and the same for rewinding) so that you don't have to manually go back each time. I would think that the HR20 could still accomplish this feature in a technically different way then TiVo so that it still worked!!!

Same with flipping between tuners and watching more than one show at a time!

·
I used to be a rocket scientist
12,182 Posts
tonycrf said:
OK. I know that a lot has been written about these two lacking features, and I know that TiVo has patents on them. But, the thing I miss most about my TiVo was the auto back track when you fast forward (and the same for rewinding) so that you don't have to manually go back each time. I would think that the HR20 could still accomplish this feature in a technically different way then TiVo so that it still worked!!!
Instead of hitting Play to jump out of FF, use Skip Back - it works pretty well. Alternately, just chain a few 30-Sec Slips together to get past the commercial break and if you overshoot, a couple Skip Backs gets you right where you need to be in nothin' flat.

Same with flipping between tuners and watching more than one show at a time!
Just press the Record button on the first thing, change channels to your second show and do the same. Then use the Playlist to go back and forth between them. For 90% or more of what people actually use dual-tuners for, this works just fine. And yes, I'm used to TiVo - used it for over five years and still have two Series 1 DirecTivos active on the account.

·
Hall Of Fame
1,765 Posts