DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Hall Of Fame
1,340 Posts
Mine is. I have one 8 foot grounding rod below the pole and another 30 feet away. Both are bonded with a #6 solid copper conductor. The main one is grounded to the service panel with a #4 copper conductor.

As a Master Electrician, I want to be really sure of my grounding system.

Attached is a photo.....................

Attachments

·
Hall Of Fame
1,340 Posts
What kind of plumbing do you have?

If you have copper or steel, you are in luck. You can use the plumbing as part of the bonding system for another 8 ft. rod driven at the pole.

You just have to make sure that you have the necessary bonding jumpers at water heaters, filters or dielectric unions.

·
Hall Of Fame
1,340 Posts
Not NEC conforming, but you can bond to the bare ground of an air conditioner, clothes dryer or a range.

·
Hall Of Fame
1,340 Posts
kay said:
2. I can put a grounding stake within 20 feet of the dish and then run 6awg copper solid wire to the main electrical ground. That would be rather costly I still don't think up to code, the impression I get is that I would have to add a full 8 foot grounding rod every 20 feet which means several unsightly cords all over the place.
This would be in compliance with the NEC, however, you'd only need to place one rod at the dish and run the #6 wire back to the main ground, NOT a grounding rod every 20 feet. The bonding conductor cannot be in contact with combustible material.

·
Hall Of Fame
1,340 Posts
They make a water boring nozzle (cheap) that attaches to the end of a pvc pipe with another attachment to a garden hose. This allows you to place a grey pvc conduit under a driveway quite easily.

·
Hall Of Fame
1,340 Posts
As a Master Electrician, I believe that what you said would the best option.