DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 185 Posts

· Hall Of Fame
3,041 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This Thursday morning at approximately 6:00am EST there will be some changes in HD in format they are delivered.

The following channels will go from MPEG 2 to MPEG 4.

206 ESPN HD
209 ESPN2 HD
245 TNT HD
281 HD Theatre
501 HBO HD
537 Showtime HD
259 Universal HD

Some folks believe these channel locations were already broadcast in MPEG4, but they were not. They required the MPEG4 receiver but were still broadcast in the MPEG2 codec. (I'm not an engineer so forgive me if I'm stating that incorrectly).

This should not effect any customer that is already seeing the above channels in those channel ranges as they already have a KaKu dish and MPEG4 equipment. The only difference is that those channels will be in MPEG4 now instead of MPEG2.

Customers that do not have the correct equipment will still be able to see those channels in MPEG2 in the 70-99 range for the time being.

In addition, the following channels will get their MPEG 4 channel location on July 31st. These will be in Ka (again, need the KaKu dish)

306 HDNet
552 HD Net Movies
390 NY CBS
392 NY NBC
396 NY ABC
398 NY FOX

Call it a mini-Festivus :icon_band

· Registered
2,158 Posts
Satelliteracer said:
This Thursday morning at approximately 6:00am EST there will be some changes in HD in format they are delivered.

206 ESPN HD
209 ESPN2 HD
245 TNT HD
281 HD Theatre
501 HBO HD
543 Showtime HD
259 Universal HD

Some folks believe these channel locations were already broadcast in MPEG4, but they were not. They required the MPEG4 receiver but were still broadcast in the MPEG2 codec. (I'm not an engineer so forgive me if I'm stating that incorrectly).