DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Legend
Joined
·
268 Posts
Anybody notice that their is audio trouble on wyou. Its out of synch with the video. It has been like this since at least 2 this afternoon and still like it. The recording of as the world turns is out of synch so I check live and yup its out. I rebooted my HR20-700 but it is still out of synch.


It was back to normal this morning 12/4/08
 

·
Legend
Joined
·
156 Posts
Doug Brott said:
Added MNT - WQMY (53) to the lineup
marker101 said:
Someone on another forum proclaims that WQMY is being uplinked as MPEG4 because there is no room on 119 satellite, and that it isn't the HD feed because they don't have one. (They do have a DT signal) Being MPEG4 would be a good reason to support needing BBC's.

???????
We don't know if this channel is 'HD' or 'SD MPEG4'.
 

·
Cool Member
Joined
·
22 Posts
I have had trouble with my HD signal since I signed on for HD. It is mostly my locals but other national channels have gone out too.
There are no obstructions to my dish at all and somedays the signal goes out when there isn't a cloud in the sky. I had technicians come out twice for adjusments. The most recent time, I lost my local channels the day after he was here. Sometimes the signal will be in the low 30's sometimes it will be in the mid 80's. Like I said this is on a sunny clear day too.
I was told the local HD's in this area come off of satellite 103(a) or (b) for my other receiver. Can anyone verify that so I know what I'm looking at when I check signal strength?
This is a roof mounted dish with no tree or mountain obstructions. it seems pretty solid so I don't think the wind is affecting it. Could it be the heat on my roof?
The are scheduled to return this weekend to check it out. Customer service hooked me up with their case management team this time for a recurring problem. I'll have to admit that their customer service has been good over the phone but I ask myself, why did I buy TV's totaling $3000 and why am I paying over $80 a month for a service that doesn't work when I mainly watch just the HD channels?
 

·
AllStar
Joined
·
108 Posts
Anyone know if the SD-looking feed from WBRE for their news broadcast is on the station's side, or what? I can't stand watching WNEP, but their news broadcasts are sooo much sharper.
 

·
AllStar
Joined
·
108 Posts
dvisthe said:
Looks like WNEP newscasts will be going HD soon!

I have no idea when, but they are in the process of constructing a new set to accommodate.
I thought it was already HD.. it just looks SO much better than WBRE! I just can't stand the newscasters... but now that Kristi Capel is gone from WBRE, I might need to change.

P.S. I'm sending an e-mail to WBRE to ask them about their plans to upgrade to HD, in an effort to BEG them to do it quickly..
 

·
AllStar
Joined
·
108 Posts
Got a reply already..

Rich;
Thank you for your input. We do have plans this year to enhance how we display information such as school closing. Below are some details (I don't have a specific time table but we expect official budget approval very soon). You can also find this info at http://pahomepage.com/dtvanswers
Gary Talkiewicz-Chief Engineer
WBRE-TV
62 South Franklin St.
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701-1201
570-706-7328
[email protected]


HD Questions:
WBRE and WYOU hope to broadcast more HD shows such as Jeopardy in the future. We pass through any/all HD programming that is supplied to us through our respective Network or national program suppliers. We do not have a firm time-table as to when the various HD shows will occur locally or when we will increase our count of HD shows. We do not offer sub-channels at this time.
We are also planning ways to enhance our delivery of Emergency and Closings information. This type of information is presented by either squeezing program content to make room for additional text , or by covering a portion of the video program with the additional text. Network and Program syndicators specify rigid rules as to what, where, and when we can cover their program content. This cannot always be produced in a way suitable to all. Our commitment to Emergency, Safety, and Public closing content takes precedence over our presentation method. Television facilities are quite complicated. For example, most of our video is in the standard definition digital format, most of our audio is in analog format. We must manage over 128 different such video and audio sources. In order to process and broadcast HD video, we bring in signals either direct from the network via HD satellite receivers or from additional satellite receivers. These receivers cover the case where signals are delivered to us live. We will be working towards acquiring more signals in HD but we must do this concurrent when adding the ability to store these signals on video servers (computer based storage systems). Commercial Broadcaster have been involved with this entire DTV project since the late 1990s. We have expended a great deal of time and money to upgrade our tower sites, transmitters, internal infrastructure as well as to keep current with normal upgrades of equipment. We have not finished adding features and we will continue to do so to provide quality service to our viewers.
We appreciate your input and look forward to offering more HD in the future.
Gary Talkiewicz-Chief Engineer
WBRE-TV
62 South Franklin St.
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701-1201
[email protected]
If you need any more information please visit pahomepage.com/dtvanswers/.
 

·
Legend
Joined
·
268 Posts
Last night and this morning I noticed that the HD feed for fox is now SD. Wonder if D* lost the rights to the hd feed. Tv says is SD and the picture is really small in the center of the screen.
 

·
Legend
Joined
·
268 Posts
This is posted on the fox 56 web site.
Guess there high def signal is out for D*.


Transmission Line Failure at FOX56 WOLF-TV


Posted: Dec 05, 2011 3:40 PM EST Updated: Dec 07, 2011 3:52 PM EST


PLAINS, PA - WOLF-TV, Northeast and Central Pennsylvania’s FOX station experienced a transmission line failure on Sunday, December 4th. This failure also affected CW and My Net coverage in parts of the viewing area.



The tower’s transmitter facilities are located on Penobscot Mountain; the damage to the transmission line was initially caused by three high powered bullets piercing the 5” Heliax transmission line causing a catastrophic failure.



Ninety percent of Northeast Pennsylvania continues to see FOX, The CW and My Network TV without interruption. Over-the-air viewers affected by the problem can view the FOX signal on the Me-TV Network channel 38.2.



“We are outraged at this pointless criminal act and we are working diligently to restore all of our signals to Northeast PA for our free over-the-air television viewers and cables systems affected by the outage,” commented Jon Cadman, General Manager FOX56 WOLF-TV.



The FOX56 SD signal was restored to Direct TV and Dish Network earlier in the week. Most cable systems continue to receive the Fox56, CW and My Network signals via fiber and therefore were not affected
 

·
Mentor
Joined
·
30 Posts
dconfer said:
This is posted on the fox 56 web site.
Guess there high def signal is out for D*.

Transmission Line Failure at FOX56 WOLF-TV

Posted: Dec 05, 2011 3:40 PM EST Updated: Dec 07, 2011 3:52 PM EST
That would explain why my Fox 56 hasn't been in HD for the past week.
 
1 - 20 of 41 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top