DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Mentor
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been subscribing to Direct TV for about 2 years now, have two TV hook up, both with model R10 DVR's I'm thinking about purchasing a HD large screen TV soon and am debating what would be my best choice for viewing. I see I can pay $10 a month to Direct TV for their content, but I live in a city (Rochester NY) that Direct TV doesn't offer the locals in HD yet. So the way I understand it, I'd need to hook up an antenna and let the locals filter through the box, then watch. So what am I paying the $10 for then a handful of stations?? If I were to buy the HD DVR, I believe that will let me record my locals throughthe box onto the DVR?

My other option would be to pay nothing extra, and just make sure the TV I buy has a bult in tuner and wathc direct. However we record alot of stuff for future viewing, so wouldn't be able to do that then I blieve?

Since I'm a current subsciber, will I be able to get any kind of deal on equipment? Currently I'm not on the lease deal, I bought my equipment back then. Even though the $10 doesn't seem to provide much content, may be worthwhile to do only so I can record locals? Will reception be good using an OTA antenna? Will the new box give me the "active channels"?

I'm also wondering how much would a similar set up cost in extras if I went back to cable?

Suggestions? Ideas?

·
Hall Of Fame
3,985 Posts
The $10 a month HD Package from D* has nothing to do with the HD locals. When your area is lit up for the HD locals via the MPEG4 signals, you will get that free if you subscribe to a package that includes your SD locals.

The HD DVR that you would need to receive your HD locals via satellite is the HR20. That is not currently programmed (or "turned on") for receiving OTA signals. I have read on here that a target date for enabling that capability in the HR20 is December 1st (note: Target Date).