DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· AllStar
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please forgive me if this is a stupid question or I have posted in the wrong forum. I am totally new to the whole world of DBS, having been conneced to TW cable for the last 20 years.

I just had my Dish network system installed with a VIP 722 receiver. I am subscibed to the top 200 and local stations. I was playing around with the OTA setup and found that I could receive 9 local digital channels with just a set of rabbit ears, this is 2 more than with the Dish Network local subscription.

I do not have an HD TV yet, but plan to purchase one in the near future. After connecting an HD TV, will I be able to watch HD channels using the OTA as the input or does the 722 somehow block HD when receiving signals this way. My thinking is that if I can receive all my locals in HD using OTA, there is no reason to pay Dish Network the extra charge for locals.

If this question or other basic dish questions are covered somewhere else in DBSTalk or on another web site, please advise.

· Hall Of Fame
15,556 Posts
AED55 said:
Please forgive me if this is a stupid question or I have posted in the wrong forum. I am totally new to the whole world of DBS, having been conneced to TW cable for the last 20 years.

I just had my Dish network system installed with a VIP 722 receiver. I am subscibed to the top 200 and local stations. I was playing around with the OTA setup and found that I could receive 9 local digital channels with just a set of rabbit ears, this is 2 more than with the Dish Network local subscription.

I do not have an HD TV yet, but plan to purchase one in the near future. After connecting an HD TV, will I be able to watch HD channels using the OTA as the input or does the 722 somehow block HD when receiving signals this way. My thinking is that if I can receive all my locals in HD using OTA, there is no reason to pay Dish Network the extra charge for locals.