DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Charter Gold Club Member
Joined
·
22,056 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's the HDNet Concert Series schedule for the week beginning Mon., Nov. 13

Mon., Nov 13 - 5:00 PM ET / 2:00 PM PT
GORILLAZ - DEMON DAYS LIVE
Putting on a live concert featuring the music of a cartoon band is ambitious enough.
Planning a full performance of Demon Days in its entirety and bringing together the
star musicians who appeared on the album should be almost impossible! However,
that's exactly what happened at the Manchester Opera House. With Gorillaz members
Murdoc and 2D watching from the Royal Box, Damon Albarn and his band in silhouette
amidst massive coloured light boxes, were joined by the Demon Days guest stars plus
a choir, a string orchestra and entire class of school children for this amazing live event.
As a stunning backdrop of animated art played behind them, the album was performed
from start to finish with appearances from collaborators including De La Soul, Ike Turner,
Neneh Cherry and Shaun Ryder. Impossible or not, the Demon Days visual extravaganza,
filmed in HD, delivers a unique theatrical experience.

Tue., Nov 14 - 4:30 AM ET / 1:30 AM PT
DON GRUSIN'S THE HANG
Eighteen of the finest jazz artists in the world today came together from 4 continents
to hang with their friend Don Grusin, play 13 exciting new arrangements of his work
and talk about how it felt to hang out and PLAY. With the help of acclaimed director
Randee St. Nicholas and editor Mitch Sinoway, Don Grusin and his musical co-horts
create a compelling live music experience in The Hang. Sit down, crank it up and enjoy!

Tue., Nov 14 - 5:00 PM ET / 2:00 PM PT
Wed., Nov 15 - 4:30 AM ET / 1:30 AM PT
HOOTIE & THE BLOWFISH
Live in Charleston - A Homegrown Event - Live in Charleston - A Homegrown Event
features Hootie & the Blowfish singing their greatest hits live. Recorded in August,
2005 in 5.1 Surround Sound. The Homegrown Concert is an annual event createdby
Hootie & the Blowfish to help supply school supplies to needy schools in the Carolinas.

Wed., Nov 15 - 5:00 PM ET / 2:00 PM PT
SHERYL CROW - C'MON AMERICA
On the heels of her greatest hits CD The Very Best of Sheryl Crow, this concert
special shows off Crow at her very best. Shot outdoors in high definition, Crow
performs for more than 5000 fans in Dayton, Ohio.

Thu., Nov 16 - 4:30 AM ET / 1:30 AM PT
THE DOOBIE BROTHERS LIVE AT WOLF TRAP
The Doobie Brothers have never sounded better! This concert, recorded at a sold
out Wolf Trap National Park in Virginia, contains all their most famous songs, plus
some rarities. From rock to soul to blues, this set contains a lot of magic. Tune
in and "listen to the music"!

Thu., Nov 16 - 5:00 PM ET / 2:00 PM PT
Fri., Nov 17 - 4:30 AM ET / 1:30 AM PT
LIVING LEGENDS OF ROCK AND ROLL: LIVE FROM ITCHYCOO PARK
Styx, John Kay and Steppenwolf, Rare Earth, and others perform their hits in concert
from the legendary Itchycoo Park.

Fri., Nov 17 - 5:00 PM ET / 2:00 PM PT
BONNAROO MUSIC FESTIVAL 2004
Bonnaroo Music Festival 2004 sold a record-breaking 90,000 tickets, the year's
highest grossing North American event! In this episode: Los Lonely Boys, Burning
Spear, Dave Matthews and more.

Sat., Nov 18 - 4:30 AM ET / 1:30 AM PT
HOOTIE & THE BLOWFISH*

Sun., Nov 19 - 6:00 AM ET / 3:00 AM PT
SOLOS: THE JAZZ SESSIONS
Extended: Mike Murley - Saxophone & Effects - Murley has released seven critically
acclaimed recordings as a leader. His Conversation Piece CD received the 1997 Jazz
Report Award for best album. He was also a four-time recipient of the Jazz Report
Award for tenor saxophonist of the year during the 1990s. More recently Murley was
voted saxophonist of the year for the 2002 and 2004 National Jazz Awards.

Sun., Nov 19 - 7:00 AM ET / 4:00 AM PT
CHICK COREA: RENDEZVOUS IN NEW YORK
Origin - Continuing with another set from the historic 3 week performance at New
York City's Blue Note celebrating the career of legendary jazz pianist Chick Corea,
this set is performed by Origin, a group that was formed in the mid '90s. The group
features Avishai Cohen on bass, Jeff Ballard on drums, Steve Wilson and Tim
Garland on saxophones and Steve Davis on trombone.

Sun., Nov 19 - 12:30 PM ET / 9:30 AM PT
HOOTIE & THE BLOWFISH*

Sun., Nov 19 - 9:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM PT - * Premiere *
Mon., Nov 20 - 12:00 AM ET / Sun., Nov 19 - 9:00 PM PT
ONE WITH EVERYTHING - STYX & THE CONTEMPORARY YOUTH ORCHESTRA OF CLEVELAND
For one magical night in May 2006, Styx, veterans of nearly 35 years of performing,
joined forces with Cleveland's Contemporary Youth Orchestra, a 171-piece orchestra
and choir composed of students aged 13-19, to perform a range of selections from
the Styx catalog. Fans are treated to a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to hear classic
Styx rockers with an orchestral twist.

Mon., Nov 20 - 2:00 AM ET / Sun., Nov 19 - 11:00 PM PT
BEYOND WARPED LIVE MUSIC SERIES
River City Rebels - The River City Rebels hone their pulsating Rock 'n' Roll with ceaseless
touring, mixing bombastic lyrics with a dose of glam and a healthy Blues swagger.

*See description above

--
All schedules subject to change - see the HDNet web site at www.hd.net for the latest information
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
21,331 Posts
THE DOOBIE BROTHERS LIVE AT WOLF TRAP
The Doobie Brothers have never sounded better! This concert, recorded at a sold
out Wolf Trap National Park in Virginia, contains all their most famous songs, plus
some rarities. From rock to soul to blues, this set contains a lot of magic. Tune
in and "listen to the music"!
I have a backstage pass aroud here somewhere from their "Farewell Tour" of many years ago. I wonder if this is from their "Farewell 2" or "Farewell 3" Tour. :lol:
 

·
Cool Member
Joined
·
22 Posts
Im glad they are still doing the Gorillaz Live.
this was an asweome concert to watch.
Even if your not a fan of the music, still a good show (until they show the night vision crowd) :)

Edit. Day late and a Doller short.
 
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top