DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Legend
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Help. I think my HR10-250 just died, and would like to know my options.

I currently have two HR10-250’s (both on 6.3a) and one R15. Last night my main (older) HR10 starting to spudder while watching a recording. It then became unresponsive and eventually rebooted. After it came back up it was still unresponsive or at least VERY slow, like 5 minutes to react. I unplugged it and let it sit a while, then let it boot back up. It did come up, but is still unresponsive. I did this a couple of times and it always comes up, but completely unresponsive.

Is this a Hard Drive failure, or possibly something else?

If I still want to keep the HR10’s for awhile, can I replace the Hard Drive? I have never opened the HR10, but I am an IT professional, so I don’t think it would be too hard. How do I go about doing that? Where can I get the DVR software?

Is there somewhere I can download the DVR software?

Is there any Hard Drive brand or speed or size limitation, beyond being an IDE drive?

I know I will eventually need the get the HR20, but was trying to hold off until it was more stable and I was more in need. I live in the Atlanta area, so we have all the HD locals off the satellite, but I have near perfect OTA reception. So, until more mpeg4 channels are introduced I have no real need.

Can I get DTV to replace both my HR10’s and upgrade to the Slimline dish for free or minimal cost???

·
Icon
507 Posts
This will reimage your drive InstantCake.
You can also buy preimaged hard drives on eBay, Weaknees, PTVupgrade, etc. Make sure you get a quiet drive if noise is a problem. Also call D* to see what they will do for you but they will probably replace the HR10 with a HR20.

·
Registered
12,552 Posts
This could be the classic symptom of hard disk failure, or soon-to-be failure. But try these tips first: