DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Mentor
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not a software engineer or an expert at how the HR20 outputs programs, but how hard would it be to make the HDdvr output two different sources. In other words, why can't a HR20-700 (or any satellite box to my knowledge), use it's dual satellite inputs to output two signals. One HDMI and one composite or component, so I wouldn't need two boxes to use Picture in picture. (POP is what my television calls placing two pictures side by side as opposed to within one another).

It may be impossible, but I just thought that would be a great feature. :grin:

·
Lifetime Achiever
30,092 Posts
Difficult.

The MPEG Decoder chip they selected, only has the ability to decode one MPEG stream at a time.

·
DBSTalk Club Member
251 Posts
krkeeton said:
I am not a software engineer or an expert at how the HR20 outputs programs, but how hard would it be to make the HDdvr output two different sources. In other words, why can't a HR20-700 (or any satellite box to my knowledge), use it's dual satellite inputs to output two signals. One HDMI and one composite or component, so I wouldn't need two boxes to use Picture in picture.
I was like "why does my HR20 need to receive email?"

·
Icon
2,147 Posts
It's a shame they chose this chip. I believe the DVR selected by Cablevision does PIP (not sure if it does POP, but it may). It was one of the selling points that ALMOST had me going back to cable, as my new HD doesn't have PIP/POP, while my old 27" Sony CRT had PIP. I'll miss it during Sept and Oct when the NFL season overlaps with MLB, but in the end, the picture quality and proven reliability (let alone great price) won out over that feature.

·
Icon
550 Posts
This was something the old UltimateTV boxes did great. With the HR20 though they might have been a little hampered by the need for both MPEG2 and MPEG4 decoding. Could have limited their chip choices.