DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here....But have been a DTV guy for many years now......I currently have the Hughes 10-250, and like most I have the huge issue with the 6.3 update dropping audio on local HD. Well, I *****ed to DTV and they sent me a new HR20-700.

My questions are:

1. Is the over the air feature enabled on these units...I remember reading that they were not functional at this time?

2. Is this unit better, worse, or about the same when compared to the 10-250?

3. I am reading about alot of issues with this HR20, and am wondering if I should just live with the 10-250...because once I activate the HR20, I have to send them the 10-250......I am not sure what to do.

Any help or advise would be very helpfull. I am hoping to hear from you guys who have the HR20, and are familiar with the 10-250.

I WAS happy with my 10-250 untill that annoying update.

· Banned
4,642 Posts
OTA is not enabled on the HR20. "Suppose" to be enabled in December. So instead of audio dropouts OTA you now have no OTA. I hope you at least have MPEG4 HD locals.

As far as "better/worse" or "richer/poorer" depends on who you ask. I'm reinstalling 3.1.5 on my HR10s due to the audio problem and some other strange issues with 6.3a. I used my 3.1.5 backup I created before hacking but as I understand it the $20 InstantCake CD has all the software/tools you need to restore your HR10 to 3.1.5.

· Lifetime Achiever
30,090 Posts
1) It is not functionall at this time... but... If I was a betting man, I would say that possible by the time your order and have it installed, there is a very good chance it would be activated.

2) All depends on your opinion of the two units.

3) You shouldn't have to send them your HR10-250... unless they have changed their "offer" recently

· Banned
614 Posts
Heynow312 said: