DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
AllStar
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today is the day. My Sony 40" LCD is being installed and my DirecTV HR20-700 is also arriving via FedEx.

I am new to all of this and have some questions regarding how people set up their systems to view content.

I know the TV can be switched to a Wide Mode to cover the entire screen for SD broadcasts. I also know the DVR can control the resolution and stretch mode.

So my question is this: how does everybody out there set their's up? Do you let the Reciever broadcast in Native resolution and simply let the TV upconvert everything? What happens is you are using Wide Zoom mode on the TV and you have an HD broadcast - does it stretch it funny.

I guess I am just wondering about some best practices and advice on how to make the 2 devices co-exist.

Thanks!

·
Icon
968 Posts
honestly, the best solution is what works best for you. every set does stretching/upconverting differently (better or worse), so you try it each way and use what works best for your equipment. there is no "works for all" answer.

·
Lifetime Achiever
30,092 Posts
I just lock mine at 720p and STRETCH mode.

Over three years of that with my Plasma and the DTivo boxes, I just got used to the stretched look.

·
Hall Of Fame
2,535 Posts
Earl Bonovich said:

Over three years of that with my Plasma and the DTivo boxes, I just got used to the stretched look.
I agree. When I first got my widescreen, I thought I was going to go crazy looking at all the short fat people on all the TV shows, but you adjust and I hardly notice that they're stretched anymore. It looks just as normal as it would if I watched it in the bedroom on a 4:3 TV.

·
Hall Of Fame
2,019 Posts