Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
DBSTalk Club Member
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am having the HR20 installed today.

I have read about all the different software updates to fix bugs, etc.

When I hook up my HR20 today, will one software patch fixall of the current problems or will it have to go through multiple software updates to catch up to the most recent update?

Also, Directv charged me $299 for the HR20.

Isn't there a better price or a rebate available?

Thanks for the info!

WKP

·
Registered
4,880 Posts
Software updates are cumulative.

No rebates that I've heard. Only way to get a lower price is try to get a deal with the CSR when you order it.

·
I used to be a rocket scientist
12,182 Posts
When your HR20 is activated, it will automatically detect that a new software version is available, then download and install it when you're not using the box (middle of the night usually). However, the installer SHOULD force the update for you as part of the setup process. One update will take care of it and catch you up.

In terms of price, many of us got better deals by calling Customer Retention to place our orders. There's a very long thread on the deals people got in the Installation sub-forum.

·
Legend
219 Posts
Most likely, you will get a series of updates. I did. The most current is version "0xe3. The entire HR20 neighborhood is awaiting the OTA activation. You can log the updates on your unit by noting the versions in setup menu and by checking this forum.

·
Godfather
440 Posts
wkp1 said:

I have read about all the different software updates to fix bugs, etc.

When I hook up my HR20 today, will one software patch fixall of the current problems or will it have to go through multiple software updates to catch up to the most recent update?

Also, Directv charged me $299 for the HR20.

Thanks for the info!

WKP