DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very sorry if this has been answered before i have looked through various articles but I am a complete noob at satellite and i have always had Cable. I just want to make sure this will work before buying stuff.

We just switched from Cable to directv.

I have a HR24-100 in my living room hooked up with an HDMI cable. I want to be able to hook the receiver up to my TV upstairs(same channel I know) as well. I have read that i can use an RF modulator(as i dont care about it being HD upstairs) hooked up to my coax cable that runs to the splitter that used to feed the other tv's(when i had cable) in the house.

Question 1. Will this work

Also i want to be able to use my remote upstairs as well. I have an RC65X and i read that this is IR only and will not work.

Question 2. Can i go on Ebay and buy an RC65RX for upstairs and keep this one downstairs?

Question 3. What is the range of an RF DirecTV remote? I need it to go up one floor and over about 10 feet.

Question 4. If this works how do i set the remote up? Can i have both remotes set up at the same time?

Thanks in advance!

·
Icon
712 Posts
I think you will find the following link helpful:

http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?t=201586

Question 1: Will this work? Yes you can connect your upstairs TV via the coaxial cable. Connect the HD DVR's composite video and left and right audio to an RF modulator which connects to the upstairs coaxial cable. Note: the upstairs TV must have a coaxial input connector. If you have the new HD-UI, you will get a message on the upstairs TV which forces you to switch your two TV's to SD (no biggie). If you do not want the SD message, you connect the HD DVR's component video to a component to composite adapter which inturn will connect to the RF modulator. The above link describes this in detail.