DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

· Legend
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie to the HD scene, but I just had the VIP622 installed with HDMI to my Panasonic 50" Plasma(Viera - 1080i), and I find the picture quality horrendously bad compared to my Directv standard programming(R10 PVR hooked up via S video). Am I missing something - The picture is extremely pixilized(I tried both 720 and 1080i settings on 622, but it didn't help), and blurry. I am in the Los Angeles market; the installers said I had a stronger than usual HD signal.As the installers were finishing up I started complaining and said if this is the best it gets, then I want them to remove it and am going back to my Directv, but by then they had taken down my Directv dish. They seemed to be clueless on the HD quality thing and told me to call CS.

I checked the software and its L365. Is there something I can try - possibly Component cables instead of HDMI because at this point I am bummed that I am paying more for worse picture quality.

Any thoughts or ideas. I appreciate any help.

Thanks

· Premium Member
21,658 Posts
What channels are you watching that look bad?

SD channels often look worse through component or HDMI on a large HDTV because it shows the flaws in those signals. Some folks run a S-video connection to use when watching the SD channels for that reason.

If it is HD channels you are seeing problems, then I would be concerned, because they should look as good or better than what you had with DirecTV.

OTA (if you have an antenna connected) should look the best by comparison unless the OTA in your area is not up to par.

· 622 Tips & Trick Keeper
9,883 Posts
First off what channels are you watching? Is your TV set to Vivid mode? If so, change the mode to something other than burn mode. I assumed we are talking your experiences with watching HD content.