DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
10,120 Posts
For the ones that are already recorded, you can highlight the program in your play list and press the blue button on your remote to remove the Keep symbol. The opposite of that is to press the blue button on one that does not have it and it will put it there.
 

·
Legend
Joined
·
377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I know all that. Thanks. The Record Default is "Until Disk is Full", yet everything I record shows up with the Keep symbol. Never had this happen on any other receivers. So, what I am saying is that I don't think I have the Keep default active yet ALL recordings (Series Links or individuals) show up as Keep.
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
10,120 Posts
There are 2 places for that to be marked.
1 is in the Recording Defaults
2 is in the Series manager for each series that is set.
If both of those are set to Keep Until Disc is Full I would reset the receiver.
Menu, Settings, Reset and use the first on in the list of choices.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23,065 Posts
It should be noted there's a difference between "keep" as applied by the BLUE button vs. "keep" via the Series Link "Keep until I delete" (KUID) option. Unfortunately, they're both flagged the same way in the PLAYLIST, even though they are treated differently under certain circumstances.

Let's say you have a series link for CSI set up to KUID with the default "keep 5" episode setting. With this setting, as expected, a CSI episode will never be deleted to make room for a new recording in a "disk space low" situation. A recorded episode of CSI will be deleted, however, to make room for a 6th episode of CSI that needs to be recorded. So in that situation, KUID is really "Keep until the maximum # of episodes has been reached".

Now lets say you have that same CSI SL set-up, but this time it's at the default "Keep until disk full", again with a maximum # of episodes set to 5. If you manually tag one of the recordings on the playlist with the blue button, that episode will truly be a "Keep until I delete" episode. When the time comes to record a 6th episode, that episode will stay, and the number of CSI episodes on the playlist will grow to 6, instead of 5.

As a result, what I do is never use KUID as part of a SL. If I want to be sure a show won't be deleted, I manually "keep" it by tagging it on the PLAYLIST, using the BLUE button.
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
10,120 Posts
I was not aware that there was a difference.
Thanks for the explanation Steve.
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
7,058 Posts
Now it sounds like you need to go into each series link and change the series options.....each SL will need it changed individually. All new SL's should end up with the defaults you have set with keep until disk full.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23,065 Posts
jimmie57 said:
I was not aware that there was a difference.
It's very confusing. I wish they would use a different color flag on the PLAYLIST to indicate just how a show is being "kept".

What it boils down to is SL "Keep at Most" overrules SL "Keep until I delete", and BLUE button KUID overrules SL KAM.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23,065 Posts
raromr said:
This is happening to ALL recordings even after a reset. Series link for all set up Disk is Full. This happens to individual recordings and not just series links.
Are you setting these series links up remotely, via the web browser? I notice when I do that, all those get set up as "KUID" by default, even though my recording defaults on that box are set to "Disk Full".

I'm not sure if that's a remote scheduling "bug" or "feature". You'd think it should respect whatever the recording defaults were for the box you're setting up the recording on, but perhaps they think they're helping the customer by making it KUID. I'm not sure.
 

·
Icon
Joined
·
1,288 Posts
Steve said:
I'm not sure if that's a remote scheduling "bug" or "feature".
Mine does the same. Only rationale I could come up with is they figure you are likely to be away from home when setting via the web, and this would give greater assurance the recording would still be there if you didn't get home for a few days.
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
10,120 Posts
raromr said:
I know all that. Thanks. The Record Default is "Until Disk is Full", yet everything I record shows up with the Keep symbol. Never had this happen on any other receivers. So, what I am saying is that I don't think I have the Keep default active yet ALL recordings (Series Links or individuals) show up as Keep.
I have had instances where I had to change an option to something I did not want and then go back and set it to what I wanted for it to work properly.
You might change the Recording Defaults to Keep Until I Delete,
Exit the set up,
wait a few minutes and then go back in the menu and set it to Keep Until Disc is Full.
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top