DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Dad
6,618 Posts
The whole Locast thing is perplexing to me. I understand why Broadcasters were against this type of product back 5 to 10 years but today, it could help them. People are turning off Cable and SAT. And the amount of consumers that are savvy enough to put up a good antenna isn't that high.

With Locast, I can watch all my locals, in my local area. If I go buy a $100-$200 portable TV and pull up the big telescoping antenna, i can do that in 50% of my home market. So why are broadcasters against letting me stream it on my 6" mobile phone? They have zero interest in OTA ATSC portable TV's hardware sales.

When I am out of my home market, Locast won't show me my locals. (OK so there are some hacks to do that but the general consumer won't know that. No different than VPN to your home TV box).

I studied the industry years ago. I understand carriage rules but if I can buy a portable TV and do this, why in the world are broadcasters forcing me to do that and not letting me watch it on my mobile phone when I am in my home market? If I can't, I then switch to Netflix, Hulu, and others and not one of them has a local TV plan with my monthly fees. They lose my eyeballs and eyeballs=ratings. They force me to the competitive services. No CBS, I am not paying for Paramount+ either!

·
Dad
6,618 Posts
To try to keep people from leaving the Cable and Sat plans and keep those carriage fees coming in. Without cable and sat carriage fees those local affiliates are going to lose a lot of money. Not that I feel sorry for them.
Broadcasters want to get paid. Most want $ per subscriber when someone rebroadcasts their signal. Even if refusing to have their signal carried loses viewers, they would rather be paid. The networks are pushing their affiliates to get paid more and give the networks a bigger cut. Paths that lead to not getting paid (other than their required OTA transmission) are not what most stations want.