DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Every morning and every afternoon since 0xEF my HR20 has been locked up in the standby mode and will not respond to anything but a red-button reset. I may try a "factory reset" but I'd prefer not to have to. I use the off-button on the remote to turn off my TV and put the unit in standby whenever I'm done watching. Oh, and for those that think all issues are HDMI related, I'm using component cables.

·
I used to be a rocket scientist
12,182 Posts
I may try a "factory reset" but I'd prefer not to have to.
What the heck are you waiting for? I mean, come on - two resets a day, every day? Something is clearly not right. What have you got to lose but an hour or less of your time? Do it this morning before the recording day gets busy and see if it helps.

Remember, it's NOT supposed to be like this and for some of us, it's not.

·
Mentor
34 Posts
I've just started having lockups with version EB. One while watching live TV. The other trying to come out of overnight standby. Red reset on both.

I just reformatted, so will see if this helps.......

·
Legend
203 Posts
I have had 2 lockups in 12 hours. Had to cut power and reset on both. I have had my unit since mid sept and this is the first time this has happened.

·
Godfather
267 Posts
I don't like the idea of a reformat solution personally. Having to reformat a machine thats like 2 months old due to problems cuase by a software update is worse than buying a cheap PC. I'm not saying it doesn't work, but it just seems so drastic. Especially if you have a lot of shows still recorded in your playlist and there is no way to backup the data (unlike a computer).

·
Cool Member
16 Posts
In my opinion, don't bother with the full reset. I have two boxes and both a locking up at least twice per day AFTER I did the full reset (with EF).

I'm beyond p*ssed.

·
Cool Member
17 Posts