DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please bear with me as I have no knowledge whatsoever about DVD recorders.

I currently have a VIP722 hooked up to my HDTV via HDMI and hooked up to TV2 via coax.

In the past I have had a tivo and have always been able to transfer my recorded videos to my computer, edit them in nero, and then burn them to DVD.

I have read through the forums and think I have an idea of how to set up the DVD recorder to burn recorded movies, but am still somewhat confused.

If I have read correctly all of the outputs are active on the 722 simultaneously, so even if I have my HDMI output hooked up to my TV, I can also hook up a S-video cable and audio cables to the DVD recorder @ the same time. Is this correct??

One of my favorite features about transferring the movies from my Tivo to my computer was the ability to edit out commercials.

Is this possible with a standalone DVD recorder?? I know some have hard drives and some don't. Do I need one with a hard drive to be able to edit the movies??

I also have seen in some user manuals that if I use a DVD+/-RW that I can go back and edit cut out commercials after it is burned. Is this correct??

Sorry again for so many questions, just am trying to get this all figured out before I go and invest money in something that is not going to work how I want it to.

· The Shadow Knows!
36,634 Posts
I can't claim to be an expert on your VIP but when it comes to DVD Recorders I've done a little homework.

First of all, the DVD recorder is something that never took off in this country. As a result, almost all the ones you'll find are from low-end manufacturers. You know, like Coby or Memorex. If you do even find one at a store, you're probably more likely to see them in Wal-Mart, Target or Kmart.

Unfortunately these low-end devices don't have much by way of features and while I had seen HDD-equipped DVD recorders in the past, I haven't seen one in a while.