1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Charter Gold Club Member
22,099 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
FYI, just thought some might be interested to know that Dish's
722 HD DVR is the top-rated DVR according to this Playback
Magazine article.

I have had this DVR since June when I re-subscribed to Dish,
and it is an absolutely rock solid performer.

http://magazine.playbackmag.net/playback/200809/

· I used to be a rocket scientist
11,448 Posts
tcusta00 said:
Cool. Why is this in the DirecTV forum? :confused:
Um . . . "fishing" (in lieu of another term) for trouble? :)

That said, I was at a friend's house last weekend and while the remote was confusing as hell, the UI and performance of their Dish DVR was very nice.

· Registered
5,915 Posts
Cool, personally I dont like them at all though!

They are rock solid performers, but the menus look like they are from the 90s and the layouts are just stupid IMO. The remote is also ridiculous.

I had a few different Dish DVRs at work for many years and still love to come home to my Directv :)

· Cutting Edge: ECHELON '09
2,390 Posts
The article is 'somewhat' incorrect on a couple of points - it states the recording capacity cannot be increased. Although based on the source cited (HR21 Owners manual page 18 of the PDF ) - that would appear correct at first glance - the 'S-ATA' is marked future use. And no mention of the AM21 for locals - however that is probably also a lack of documentation (i.e. also missing from manual). If I were reviewing it without owning one - I would make the same assumptions I think.

So on the 3 thumbs down items - 2 are just 'missing' documentation. I have used my neighbors Dish box and I tend to agree with the first point (channel change speed) - and it is quite usable.

· Beware the Attack Basset
26,475 Posts