DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Mentor
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Note: I called customer service with this question and they, inexplicably, could not get me an answer.

I am brand new to DirecTV. I recently had installed an HR34 and two H25s. The H25s are great. They are very compact, show the full HD channel set, communicate with the HR34, and can access my DVR list. They do not have On Demand access nor are they capable of pausing and rewinding live TV.

Question: What is the cheapest receiver that I can use that will also give me the capability of pausing and rewinding live TV? How much does that typically cost? (I think the H25 is costing me $6 per unit per month.)

· AllStar
75 Posts
At this time no receiver can pause or rewind live tv. That is a feature that only DVR's can do. When the C30/C31 (which ever it is called now) is released, you will be able to pause an rewind live tv at tv's that are connected to them. The C30/C31 are RVU clients and will work with you HR34. However they would use one tuner from the HR34 while they are in use.

· Hall Of Fame
16,178 Posts
You would need a DVR, or an RVU TV (really certain Samsungs) and have DirecTV activate that service. A DVR generally is $200 without any special pricing. The monthly fee is $6 regardless. The DVR fee is per account, so you would not pay more for that. On a month to month basis, there is no price difference from a DVR or a regular receiver.

It doesn't much matter, but if you get a DVR, your two year contract restarts when you activate. It does not add it on at the end, but it may be a few months longer than before, depending on when your install was.

Keep in mind, you can set something to record from the H25 to the HR34, which can help work around pausing, but not necessarily rewinding. If you got a second DVR, you cannot have it record something to the 34.

At this time, I don't think anyone knows when the C31 will be released.

· AllStar
403 Posts
dpeters11 said: