DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· AllStar
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie to Dish and HD. I've searched the forums for possible solutions, but can't say I have a solid direction to go in. I'm looking for advice on how to record more than 2 shows in the same time slot and I only have a couple weeks to get ready before the new seasons to start. Thursday is my dilemma day (don't laugh): Survivor, the Office and Smallville. We recently signed up with Dish for a 722 which controls our HDTV in the living room and CRT TV in the bedroom - that's it. It seems that my possible solutions are to either get a second DVR or connect an OTA to the 722. Since Smallville is on the CW and it's not in HD on Dish, then recording on a second DVR in the bedroom would seem to make sense. Unless it's offered in HD for an OTA antenna. I don't know if it is in my area (Anaheim, CA). Anyone know the costs for a second SD DVR? The OTA option isn't that desirable to me since I just finished remodeling my home and don't want a big ugly antenna on my roof. Plus, I now have stucco and I've read that an internal/attic antenna wouldn't work well with the metal mesh within the stucco. Any suggestions is much appreciated. Thank you.

· 622 Tips & Trick Keeper
9,883 Posts
I am in SoCal Beagan.... and have a 722 and have it connected with OTA and yes I do believe you get CW.. How you can find out is go to antenna.org and do a search for your area. If you have line of sight to MT Wilson then I highly recommend getting OTA set up if you can so you can record 3 stations at one time. It rocks.

I personally am in Yorba Linda, CA and I am able to pick up Mt Wilson with a small outside antenna with pre-amp so my guess is that you would also be able to.

For the record.. I am also a Survivor fan and Office fan so there is nothing to be ashamed about. ;) Well not sure about Smallville though. ;)

9,883 Posts