Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
DirecTV 10yr+ Customer
1,011 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well,

I'm here is Atlanta and call on Scientific Atlanta, Motorola BCS and Echostar settop development group engineering. I've been doing this for 20 years and lately have seen alot of lab work on MPEG4 streams. What has been interesting I've seen alot of lab testing where the cable guys take their fixed Coax bandwidth and chop it up/degrade (called transcoding/transrating) in order to get more bandwidth (ie. channels) out of the coax. So, basically it is a "how low of a bit rate stream and quality can we drop the HD images that is still acceptable to the consumer". Like most, I was under the impression MPEG-4 main profile (H.264) was inherantly worse than MPEG-2. Yesterday I was educated technically by a Encoder engineer from this the company EGT that I was in fact wrong (http://www.egtinc.com/). They make MPEG encoders that bolt to the transmission headends. EGT in general does only MPEG-4. However, what I thought was interesting is that while MPEG-4 runs at a lower bit rate than MPEG-2 it actually is a higher quality stream ! Yup, higher quality. The key to quality as explained to me is in the encoding of the baseline native broadcast video into MPEG and that processes effectiveness/efficiency in doing motion compensation (basically what has changed/moved in a frame). To bottom line it....MPEG-2 has a 1/2 pixel resolution and MPEG-4 a 1/4 pixel resolution. So, they showed me in their lab a MPEG-2 stream and MPEG-4 stream running the identical encoder and the MPEG-4 was substantially noticably better ! I couldn't believe it !!!! They agreed that most people/consumers have the same viewpoint that MPEG-4 is worse because the cable folks use its lower bit rate to even play more games on increasing channel bandwidth. So, the long-n-short is that the MPEG-4 we see is not the MPEG-4 that is possible. It comes down to the battle of quality vs. quantity o