DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

· Mentor
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Background: Been a DirecTV sub since 1994. Been a hard core DirecTivo user with 2 upgraded Hughes boxes since '02. Had a replayTV unit for a couple of years before that. I'm an electrical engineer by trade, but with 2 small kids, I don't have time to screw around with pre-production hardware and was assured by DTV that this thing was ready for prime time.

I had my HR20 installed on Thursday of last week. Initial impressions at that time were:
- Nice looking box
- HD through HMDI looks awesome
- Menus look pretty nice and a bit more modern than Tivo
- Was there some kind of sale on blue LEDs?

The honeymoon, such as it was, pretty much ended there. Since that time, I've had numerous issues:

- audio dropouts - both using component video with the RCA audio jacks and with the HDMI output.
- I set it up to record a football game yesterday and it just didn't do it
- I notice the problem as the game started and hit record again. It did record it, but as I watched the game time shifted, I was 30 second slipping through commercials (buffered 4X) when I got a BSOD (not seen since Windows 2000) and I waited for the 5 minute reboot. Started playing the game again, got back where I was, 4X slipped again and another reboot. Went to my trusty Tivo and watched the rest of the game there.
- Last night I was watching ER recorded from the week prior. Got 42 minutes into the show and the sound dropped out. Didn't come back for the remainder of the show. Went to my trusty Tivo and watched the remainder of the show.