DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 104 Posts

· Lifetime Achiever
21,244 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In The Sixto Report: D11 Sat Status Discussion thread we've had problems deciding what is a TLE. Since that became too OT for that thread, it's moved into this thread (that I had anticipated needing last night at 1:31am...) :)

Sixto's description from post #2 of the thread:
Two Line Element (TLE) Format:
Standard format of numbers for describing in detail a spacecraft's trajectory around the earth. Calculated and published by the U.S. government regularly

http://celestrak.com/columns/v04n03/

http://www.space-track.org/tle_format.html)​
Here are the rest of the What are TLE posts from the thread.

Enjoy,
Tom

· I used to be a rocket scientist
11,448 Posts
Okay, just a reminder, any "real-time tracking" type site like n2yo is NOT "real-time!" They are using the same NORAD/Space Command two-line orbital element sets that the rest of us are and propagating them into the present - the "current" public TLEs are about 6 days and counting out-of-date, so the tracking sites are NOT a reliable source unless the element sets are current.

· Hall Of Fame
2,844 Posts
LameLefty said:
Okay, just a reminder, any "real-time tracking" type site like n2yo is NOT "real-time!" They are using the same NORAD/Space Command two-line orbital element sets that the rest of us are and propagating them into the present - the "current" public TLEs are about 6 days and counting out-of-date, so the tracking sites are NOT a reliable source unless the element sets are current.
Hey Lefty...

Question about TLEs

I've read on here both sides that TLEs are a snapshot of exactly where a satellite is at the timestamp of the TLE or that a TLE is a projection on where satellite is headed.

Yer the resident rocket scientist here, whats the official answer?