Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
AllStar
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello everyone.

I'm a newbie to your forum and to the dvr world. I'm a low end audio and video file. We currently have a sony kv-34xbr800 hd tv, and are using a sony sat-hd200 satellite receiver. im thinking about buying my wife the new directv plus hd dvr for christmas and just put us on the waiting list with directv for a unit.

But after reading some of the posts on your forum it sounds like the hr20 has some issues, and I'm a little concerned.

We would be using the unit like a vcr, just to record programs we would normally miss. and of course as a hd tuner. we currently get or local hd programming and hd package from directv.

I currently use the dvi connection from the sat. receiver to the tv, but do have an hdmi input on the tv. and use an optic cable from the sat. receiver to our a/v receiver for our audio/surround sound.

Do you think I'm opening a can of worms going with the hr-20? Or is it pretty much trouble free for what we will be using it for?

·
Registered
4,880 Posts
First of all, welcome to the forum :D

Your questions have many different answers. Some people have had problems and some have not. I am in the "minor" problem camp; most of the issues I have experienced with my HR20 have been minor, and many have been fixed at one point or another with the barrage of software updates. There are others here that have had really bad experiences with the HR20 so far and I'm still not clear why mine works fine and others work like crap.

In terms of your Sony HDTV and the HDMI connectivity, I haven't seen many reports here of problems with the HR20 HDMI connected to a Sony TV. I have a Sony KDF50WE655, and the HDMI compatibility has been perfect since day 1. Hopefully someone here has your exact model # and would be able to tell you just how well it works with the HR20.

I say since you're already a D* subscriber, give it a shot.

·
AllStar
59 Posts