Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Cool Member
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
As stated in the subject. I am new to DVR's.
I went and picked up the R15 to replace the receiver in the LR. Man o Man, I wish I would have found this forum before I went and bought it.:nono2:

I have searched the forum and seen things that happen to me.
I did have to do one thing though. I only have one cable coming to the receiver. I know Nomally you would run a multi switch and run the cables from the LNB TOO the switch and then out. However, this receiver is across the house so I tried a multi switch @ the TV and out to the 1 & 2 inputs. I have signal to both this way.

Questions:
I look at Menu,settings,setup & info&test. It reads Manufacturer:500, Model:R15
Does this mean it is R15-500 as I see people listing a number AFTER their R15.
This morning I have done a software upgrade twice. It says Origanal vers:0x10c8
Past ugrade 0x10e8,12/24/2006, Future upgrade - Not scheduled. Does this mean it hasnt taken upgrades the 2 times this morning? It goes from 0 to 100% each time. Just trying to get the newest loaded.

I have seen some problems as posted. Like this morning I got up and turned the TV on (Receiver stays on) and it said searching for signal yet the channel was on. Then all the sudden the screen saver came on.

BOY do I wish this thing had the autotune feture as I use that ALL the time on the old receivers.

Any advice and imput for a newbie to DVR would be grateful.

I wish all of you a Hapy Holiday season and thanks for being here.

Don

·
Icon
895 Posts
Yes, you do hae an R15-500 and you may not get the latest until they give it to you :(.

But only non-DVR receivers ever had autotune. You kind of don't need to have autotune with a DVR. Just record it.

·
Hall Of Fame
1,546 Posts
donscomp said: