Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Mentor
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well,

My wife and I have been watching on a 20+ year old TV on standard def cable until we recently decided to go completely HD. We will be setting up a Panny plasma in the bedroom, and a Sony SXRD in the living room. And I've read nothing but good reviews of the Dish 622 receiver. So here is my dilemma, I'm a complete noob in the HD world.

1) Most of the HD we will be watching will be from ESPN and TNT (for me) and HGTV type of shows (for the wife), and we like to watch HBO and nature shows like Discovery or Nature. Should we just go with the platinum package or is there something more suitable and cheaper for us?

2) I know the 622 can feed 2 TVs, but only 1 of the TV can be HD. Ideally, I guess I would like to have both TV with HD, so what are my choices and what is it going to cost me? Is there a way to set it up so I can feed HD to either TVs?

3) How do I go about setting this up? Do I just call up Dish and ask them to set everything up? Do they charge for installation like running wires to both TV? I know I want the 622 so we can record HD shows. Do we get the 622 for free and also the dish as well? I was thinking of just buying the 622 outright, but not sure if that is a good idea.

Thanks for the help.

·
Hall Of Fame
1,105 Posts
Jim,
I sent you a PM with some info :)

·
Mentor
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info. So if I buy my own 622, I obviously don't pay the 200 initial lease fee for the box and I get the $6 lease fee waived...correct? But do I have to pay for the dish and wires? And do I pay the $5 hd programming fee if I don't get the platinum package?