DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a total newbie in the area of taping into the hard drive of my DirectTV DR15 unit so that I can off load programs to my computer.

Any information and/or links would be greatly appreciated

·
Icon
895 Posts
Bottom line you can't, and if there was a way (which there isn't mind you) to view programs from your R15 on your PC we probably couldn't tell you. Somebody would have to PM you :D.

·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
jonaswan2 said:
Bottom line you can't, and if there was a way (which there isn't mind you) to view programs from your R15 on your PC we probably couldn't tell you. Somebody would have to PM you :D.
Are the hard drives in the R15 proprietary, or could I pop it out and into my computer as a way to remove content.

Let me guess, the HD is normal, but the file structure and format is proprietary, so my computer won't read them.

·
Lifetime Achiever
30,092 Posts
The physicall hardware is not propritary, standard hard drive.

But over the last year, many of people have "poped" the drive out and put in the PC... But they are storing the data in an encrypted format, so you don't have access to it.

·
Icon
895 Posts
sheridan1952 said:
Earl,

Will they EVER enable the USB port?
Now how do you think DirecTV2Go will work?

Now if you want DirecTV on your PC, they did announce that PC tuner at CES. Who know if that will ever surface again though. But NDS also has that USB key/Access Card thingy that allows people to watch VIdeoGuard protected content on their PCs. That will probably never surface on DirecTV either.

·
Icon
895 Posts
Wolffpack said:
Do you think we'll see DTV2go on the R15?
Well, I don't know of any reason to why we can't have DirecTV2Go on the R15. When DirecTV originally announced the service, they explictly said you plug the compatible portable media player into a Plus DVR. The R15 is a Plus DVR.

·
Hall Of Fame
2,496 Posts