DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· Legend
233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First time D* customer this week, and I'm not happy with the leased H-23. I'm curious if it's fine to send it back and replace it with a hr-22 I can pick up at one of the retail stores?

Or, how does it work if I pick up a owned HR-20 on eBay? Does it still stay owned or does it become leased?

If it becomes leased would it be covered under the protection plan?

· Hall Of Fame
6,417 Posts
If there is something wrong with the H23, I'm sure D* will correct the situation. The HR20 and HR22 are both DVR's and as tuners they function the same as an H23 except they can record programs. What is it you don't like about the H23?

· Hall Of Fame
5,000 Posts
Does the AM21 work with the H23? If so that is a better option then swapping to a new reciever.

· Hall Of Fame
6,417 Posts
I have no experience with an H23 but I have used an H20, I always thought they worked the same. The only difference, to my knowledge, is the H20 does have an OTA tuner. H20's can adjust the format on SD broadcasts, I was sure the H23 could as well.

· Lifetime Achiever
28,927 Posts
joshjr said:
Does the AM21 work with the H23? If so that is a better option then swapping to a new reciever.
davring said:
The AM21 will only work with the HD DVR's at this time. I have read that they may make it compatible with the H23.
This is correct, at some point in the future, the H23 will be able to use the AM21 .. It is unknown when that will be.

· Hall Of Fame
3,985 Posts
I'm sure DirecTV would be just fine with you returning your H23 and replacing it with an HD DVR that you "purchased" retail (still being a leased unit). You would either have to arrange for a second line to be run if there isn't one there already, or use the HD DVR with the limited capabilities resulting from only having one line connected.

I wouldn't expect any refund of the money you may have paid for the H23, though.