DBSTalk Forum banner

One receiver blocking the signal of another? Muti-switch problem?

949 Views 10 Replies 7 Participants Last post by  evan_s
Hello, a newbie here. I’ve visited many times but just registered. I need some help diagnosing a problem. I’ve tried searching the forums and wasn’t able to find what I was looking for.

My Living Room (HR21-700) receiver seems to be blocking the signal on my Master Bedroom receiver (H21-100). What happens is that sometimes I will get a searching for signal on some of my HD channels in my bedroom. When I go to the Living room and tune to that same channel it comes in fine. Leaving it on that same channel I can then go back to my bedroom and the signal is fine. This happens intermittently and not on all HD channels. Also on some of the SD channels I will get a message 749 Multi-Switch Error and the channel will be mixed up. For instance the channel should be E! and the banner says this, but a pay-per view screen will show up. Again, I can go to the Living Room and tune to the same channel and that will fix it. Once working, if I change the Living Room channel too quickly after getting the Bedroom receiver working, I will lose the signal again, very annoying.