DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Hall Of Fame
1,119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I figured out why OTA is disabled. If they enabled OTA, and havent' fixed all the issues with HD locals they are currently (re) broadcasting, we'll see the differences in quality between the two. I don't mean the MPEG 2/4 differences. I mean, while watching th HD stream of my CBS local NFL, it was unwatchable. I switched to my HR10-250, using OTA, the picture was fine. If OTA was enabled on the HR20-700, you could switch between the signals, and see where the real problem lies, since most people not only have both boxes, but wouldn't switch between them on the same tv anyway.

·
Mr. FixAnything
27,271 Posts
Could be, but it well known fact what was discussed many time here. Only if they think we don't have friends, family, co-workers. :)

·
I used to be a rocket scientist
12,182 Posts
I got it, you're onto something. D* killed Kennedy, faked the moon landings and is cahoots with the Trilateral Commission to hide the hole in the North Pole that leads to paradise in the center of the earth, too. And Elvis is the CEO - Murdoch is just a patsy.

·
Legend
150 Posts
The fact that OTA is enabled on the H20 and it can also recieve MPEG-4 should put this theory to rest. No tin foil hat needed. :)

·
Legend
219 Posts
nocaster said:
The fact that OTA is enabled on the H20 and it can also recieve MPEG-4 should put this theory to rest. No tin foil hat needed. :)
And while OTA on my H20 is completely and totally SPECTACULAR, the MPEG4 PQ is comparable, albeit slightly inferior. You have to expect some PQ compression tradeoffs in the interest of bandwidth. Still, the fact that the HR20 does not have OTA is nothing to contact the FTC or the FCC about.

·
Legend
200 Posts
LameLefty said: